Hello Edexcel IGCSE Examinees!

To tell you a bit about myself, I am Namira, a May 2015 candidate. I have always felt that school notes and textbooks were never enough. I scouted through the Web, I went to seniors and asked whether we need tutors at home. At the end of the day, I never really knew whom to trust, or what to believe. I never came across one thing that would answer me, is doing this going to be enough to get me those A*s?

Regardless of all that, I did eventually get past my IGCSEs, and hopefully, so will all of you, and with very good results, if I may add! To help you along the way, I decided to make a compilation of the materials which really did help me, or I found helpful, even if it were too late to study them.

In each blog post, I’ll add links and files relating to one IGCSE subject. I had eight IGCSE subjects, listed below:

  • English Language B
  • Bengali
  • Mathematics B
  • Further Pure Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Economics

6 thoughts on “

  1. Hey,
    Can you please help me with last minute tips and revisions on English and pmaths? It would be really helpful.
    P.s. I am a Jan 2018 candidate

    Like

    • Hey Mayesha, been a while since I’ve given these exams and since then, the syllabus has probably changed multiple times, but here are some tips anyway:
      For english, just learn up formats really well, know your vocabulary, and read some of your best pieces of writing before leaving for the exam. You can also read exemplars from the Edexcel website where they share highest scoring essays, to get an idea of the standard of writing expected from students.
      For Pmaths: make your formulae list (if you haven’t already) and learn it up. Learn to rely less on the formulae given at the back of the exam papers because that kills time and usually isn’t as helpful (although you should definitely turn to it if nothing else comes to mind). Practice a few sums from every chapter, go through practice exam papers and mark yourself using a markscheme and pay attention to details mentioned in the scheme, such as, do they cut marks for not writing a certain statement? Or showing a certain work out? Do atleast one/two papers a day for a week under exam conditions (setting a timer) and check the papers and do corrections the same day. Notice if there’s a trend in the mistakes you’re making and revise the chapters from the book accordingly. Before going to the exam hall, do go through your formulae list and your correction sheets for the sums you find the hardest.
      Hope this helps, and best of luck!

      Like

  2. hey namira, ur revision tips are really helping me! thank you!
    i’m going to be giving my exam on this may and i’m a private candidate and lots of people told me that english language b is the toughest as everyone fails, so i’m kinda confused the reason behind it. i was wondering if you could share any essay with me so that i can understand my level of writing. i would highly appreciate!

    Like

Leave a comment